Loading Events

« All Events

CTTIC: Free Webinar – 9 Ways to Thrive as a Language Professional in 2021-2022 (must click ‘continue to payment’ on registration form to complete process)

December 6 @ 11:00 am - 12:30 pm MST

 

9 Ways to Thrive as a Language Professional in 2021-2022

Neuf façons de prospérer en traduction professionnelle en 2021-2022

Presented by: Joachim Lépine, M. Ed., C. Tr.

Monday, December 6, 2021 @ 2:00 pm AST; 1:00 pm EST; 12:00 pm CST; 11:00 am MST; 10:00 am PST

 

 

Presentation Details: (repeated in French below)

As translators today, we face unprecedented challenges, but also previously unheard of opportunities. This talk addresses three common challenges we are all facing—fragmentation, technological change and professional overwhelm—and shows some of the wonderful things we can learn from one another in the field.

Each challenge serves as a jumping-off point to find new ways to reconnect with others, take back control of our work methods, and rediscover our own professional worth (and healthy boundaries).

Joachim Lépine, M. Ed. C. Tr., has been a university lecturer and seminar leader for more than 10 years. His translation business, Traductions LION, has served an array of high-profile clients in Canada and abroad. Joachim has trained for the Government of Canada, Editors Canada, OTTIAQ, Magistrad, ATIM, NTE, and Quebec-based and international translation agencies.
He also trains internationally for Training for Translators (USA) and ITI French Chapter (UK).
Joachim was head of the OTTIAQ continuing education committee for seven years, from 2013 to 2020. He teaches English translation, comparative stylistics and related courses at Université de Sherbrooke. He holds degrees in fine arts, professional translation and education, respectively from Concordia University, Université de Sherbrooke and Plymouth State University.

 

De nos jours, le domaine de la traduction est parsemé de défis sans précédent, mais aussi de possibilités inouïes. Cette présentation aborde trois défis qui touchent l’ensemble de la profession : la fragmentation, les avancées technologiques et la surcharge de travail. Elle expose aussi les précieuses leçons que nous pouvons nous transmettre entre spécialistes de la traduction.

Chaque défi nous propulse vers de nouvelles façons de rétablir les liens avec les autres,
de reprendre les commandes de nos méthodes de travail et de redécouvrir notre propre valeur professionnelle (et de rétablir de saines limites).

Joachim Lépine, M. Ed., trad. a., enseigne à l’université et anime des ateliers de formation continue depuis plus de 10 ans. Son entreprise, Traductions LION, offre des services langagiers à un éventail de clients prestigieux au Canada et à l’étranger. M. Lépine a été formateur pour le gouvernement du Canada, Réviseurs Canada, l’OTTIAQ, Magistrad, l’ATIM, NTE et nombre de cabinets de traduction situés au Québec et ailleurs dans le monde.
Il est également formateur à l’international pour Training for Translators (É.-U.) et pour la section française de l’Institute of Translation and Interpreting (R.-U.).
M. Lépine a été responsable du comité de la formation continue de l’OTTIAQ de 2013 à 2020. Diplômé en beaux-arts, en traduction professionnelle et en éducation, respectivement de l’Université Concordia, de l’Université de Sherbrooke et de la Plymouth State University, il enseigne la traduction vers l’anglais, la stylistique comparée et d’autres matières connexes à l’Université de Sherbrooke.

REMEMBER:  to register above – This presentation is FREE but you will need to click “Continue to Payment” regardless to complete the registration process.

Details

Date:
December 6
Time:
11:00 am - 12:30 pm MST

Venue

Online – Zoom
Canada

Organizer

ATIA
Phone:
888 434 2842
Email:
admin@atia.ab.ca
Website:
www.atia.ab.ca