Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

CTTIC Presents ~ How a Text Translator Can Become a Subtitler – Free Webinar!

June 12 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm MDT

Presented By Deborah Wexler
How a Text Translator Can Become a Subtitler

With today’s explosion of streaming content, audiovisual translation is more in demand than ever before. But how can a text translator enter into this seemingly closed off magical world? In this webinar, you will explore the differences between text translation and subtitling, subtitle formatting, the ins and outs of managing time and space constraints and how to begin training yourself in subtitling.

 

 


De la traduction au sous-titrage

En raison de l’explosion de la diffusion de contenu en continu, la demande de services de  traduction dans le domaine de l’audiovisuel n’a jamais été aussi forte. Mais comment entrer dans ce monde magique apparemment fermé? Dans ce webinaire, vous verrez les différences entre la traduction de textes et le sous-titrage, le formatage des sous‑titres, les tenants et aboutissants de la gestion des contraintes de temps et d’espace et comment commencer à vous former en sous‑titrage.

 

Deborah Wexler is an ATA-certified English>Spanish translator and editor with more than 20 years of experience, specializing in audiovisual translation and Spanish orthography. She has translated and reviewed over 6,000 program hours for television, VHS, DVD, Blu-ray, streaming media, and the big screen. Deborah is a frequent speaker at international conferences and an educator who has mentored and trained many translators wanting to get into the audiovisual field. She is the Director of Localization of the Americas at Pixelogic Media as well as the co-founder and Administrator of ATA’s Audiovisual Division.

 

 

Deborah Wexler, traductrice anglais-espagnol agréée par l’ATA et réviseure de textes, a plus de 20 ans d’expérience et se spécialise en traduction de matériel audiovisuel et en orthographie espagnole. Elle a traduit et révisé plus de 6 000 heures de programmation pour la télévision, des productions en VHS, DVD, Blu-ray, des médias de diffusion en continu et le grand écran. Deborah est souvent invitée à présenter des allocutions à des conférences internationales. À titre de formatrice, elle a formé de nombreux traducteurs souhaitant travailler dans le domaine de l’audiovisuel. Elle est la directrice des services de localisation pour les Amériques à Pixelogic Media et cofondatrice et administratrice de la division de l’audiovisuel de l’ATA.

Hosted by ATIA at below Time:

12 PM PDT, 1PM MDT, 2PM CDT, 3PM EDT, 3PM ADT

Register above – Your Zoom invite will be sent one day before the webinar.

Details

Date:
June 12
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm MDT

Venue

Online – Zoom
Canada

Organizer

CTTIC